The spotted beauty

asian-kole-female-2
Asian koel – female

I am talking about the Asian koel female, a spotted beauty. They are shy and timid, often hiding among the foliage of the trees. Though male koels are around, I have rarely seen them as a pair…separately maintaining their space!

Unlike males that are good singers with high pitch sound, females have a jarring call.

These beauties frequent my backyard trees and trees around my house, in search of berries and shelter.

Here are some pictures of Asian koel (Eudynamys scolopaceus)  female.

asian-koel-female-4
A thirsty spotted beauty- on my terrace
asian-koel-female-3
Feasting on sandalwood berries in my backyard
6 thoughts on “The spotted beauty

Leave a Reply

